Navigation Search

Residency in Internal Medicine Overview

Pathway to outstanding careers in community hospital and academic settings.

The Department of Medicine at Maimonides offers a fully accredited residency in Internal Medicine. The program has a total of 107 positions (26 at the PGY-1 level) in a categorical, three-year residency, leading to certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Up to 18 positions are available in a one year Preliminary Internal Medicine program for those pursuing specialty training in other areas. All medicine residents have the opportunity to train for the full three years of the program pending successful performance each year. Three chief residents are appointed annually to support the activities of the training program and to serve as teachers and mentors for all junior and senior residents.

In addition, we offer fellowships in the medical subspecialties of cardiology, geriatrics, pulmonary diseases/critical care medicine, gastroenterology, hematology/oncology, nephrology, and infectious diseases.

The pass rate of graduates of our program on the American Board of Internal Medicine Certifying Examination is excellent. Our residents have achieved outstanding careers in both community hospital and academic settings.

To augment training, research, and patient care excellence, Maimonides Medical Center Department of Medicine has divisions in the following specialties:

  • Cardiology
  • Gastroenterology
  • General Internal Medicine
  • Geriatrics
  • Hematology/Oncology
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Metabolism and Endocrinology
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Pulmonary and Critical Care
  • Rheumatology and Immunology

All divisions of the Department of Medicine are under the direction of full-time staff actively engaged in teaching and research.  The Department also works closely with the recently established Department of Cardiology to ensure residents receive a well-rounded and robust internal medicine education.